Task Force Membership List and Subcommittee Structures

Print Email Add

Governor O'Malley's P-20 Leadership Council Task Force on Arts Education in Maryland Schools:

Mary Ann Mears, Co-Chair, Founder and Current Trustee, AEMS Alliance

Dr. Jack Smith, Co-Chair, Chief Academic Officer, Maryland State Department of Education

Dr. Sean Abel, Principal, Patterson Mill Middle/High School, Harford County

John Baugher, Principal, Francis Scott Key High School, Carroll County

Mark Coates, Coordinator, Fine Arts, Howard County Public Schools

Theresa Colvin, Executive Director, Maryland State Arts Council

James DeGraffenreidt, Member/Past President, Maryland State Board of Education

Eleni Dykstra, Acting Coordinator of Visual Arts, Anne Arundel County Public Schools

Nancy Highsmith, Interim Superintendent, Calvert County Public Schools

Judy Jenkins, Director of Curriculum, Maryland State Department of Education

Peter Kannam, Managing Partner, America Achieves

Dr. Brit Kirwan, Chancellor, University System of Maryland

Martin Knott, President, Knott Mechanical

Kwame Kwei-Armah, Artistic Director, Center Stage

Anita Lambert, Coordinating Supervisor, Creative Arts Programs, Prince George's County Public Schools

Liz Lerman, Founding Artistic Director, Dance Exchange

Dr. Maravene Loeschke, President, Towson University

Dr. Kevin Maxwell, Superintendent, Prince George's County Public Schools

Dr. Stephen Miles, Supervisor of Visual and Performing Arts, Washington County Public Schools

Dr. Khalid Mumin, Superintendent, Caroline County Public Schools

Christopher Nunzio, Principal, Prince Street Elementary School, Wicomico County

Rick Penix, Coordinator, Fine Arts, Montgomery County Public Schools

Wayne Ridenour, Member/Past President, Washington County Board of Education

Lisa Stuart, Content Specialist, Art, Theatre, Dance - Montgomery County Public Schools, Maryland Art Education Association President

Sonia Synkowski, Dance Resource Teacher, Baltimore County Public Schools

Carol Trawick, President, The Jim and Carol Trawick Foundation

Jay Tucker, Coordinator of Fine Arts, Maryland State Department of Education

Dr. Patricia Welch, Dean of Education, Morgan State University


Resource Allocation

Chair: Sonia Synkowski


    1. Describe and comment on the amount of dedicated funding to arts education in local school system budgets
    2. Describe and comment on the extent to which each local school system offers a rich program in arts education
    3. Describe and comment on arts education staffing allocations in each local school system
    4. Describe and comment on the level of access to high-quality arts education professional development in each local school system
    5. Describe and comment on contributions that higher education should make to help ensure a rich program in arts education, P12.
    6. Make recommendations on the above consistent with other subcommittee recommendations

    Sonia Synkowski, Chair
    John Baugher
    Theresa Colvin
    Eleni Dykstra
    Anita Lambert
    Dr. Maravene Loeschke
    Lisa Stuart
    Carol Trawick

Curriculum and Instruction

Chair: Mark Coates


    1. Discuss implications of the new National Core Arts Standards on curriculum development and instruction in the arts
    2. Describe the relationship between the new Common Core Standards in English Language Arts and mathematics and the present MD standards in the fine arts
    3. Identify and describe the characteristics of high quality arts instruction
    4. Determine instructional needs for arts educators and non-arts educators who integrate the arts into instruction, including the integration of technology and the on-going assessment of student learning
    5. Determine the professional development experiences that will be required to implement changes in curriculum and in instructional practices
    6. Identify strategies for the evaluation of teachers’ effectiveness in arts instruction
    7. Identify strategies for the evaluation of the quality of arts programs
    8. Make recommendations on the above consistent with other subcommittee recommendations


    Mark Coates, Chair
    Peter Kannam
    Kwame Kwei-Armah
    Liz Lerman
    Dr. Kevin Maxwell
    Dr. Stephen Miles
    Dr. Khalid Mumin
    Wayne Ridenour
    Jay Tucker

Policies and Regulations

Chair: Judy Jenkins


    1. Review current Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) pertaining to arts education
    2. Review current LEA policies and procedures pertaining to arts education
    3. Identify school systems that have a comprehensive, sequential fine arts programs and describe their characteristics
    4. Review current methodology of holding LEAs accountable for implementing regulations pertaining to arts education
    5. Compare the above findings, as available, to that of other states
    6. Make recommendations on the above consistent with other subcommittee recommendations and recent national and state developments in the fine arts


    Judy Jenkins, Chair
    Dr. Sean Abel
    James DeGraffenreidt
    Dr. Brit Kirwan
    Martin Knott
    Chris Nunzio
    Rick Penix
    Dr. Patricia Welch

What's Happening

Maryland Arts Education Conference

Join Our Email List

For Email Marketing you can trust
Back to Top

AEMS Alliance, 190 W. Ostend Street, Suite 210, Baltimore, Maryland 21230     Phone: 410-837-5500   Email: info@aems-edu.org