News & Events

Print Email Add

Maryland Fine Arts Education Conference

“Excellence at Every Level: Inspiring Models for Arts Education”

Registration is now open!

Date: Thursday, May 31st, 2018
Time: 8:30am-3:00pm
Location: Anne Arundel Community College, 101 College Pkwy, Arnold, MD 21012

Early Bird Registration (before May 11): $45
Student Registration: $35
Late Registration (after May 11): $65

*Discounts are available for School Teams of 5 or more. Please request an invoice on the form linked below.

The Maryland Fine Arts Education Conference (MFAEC), formerly the Cultural Arts for Education Conference (CAFÉ) is an annual convening of 200 arts education stakeholders in the state, including classroom teachers, teaching artists, administrators, arts organizations, and higher education.

In celebration of the 25th anniversary of AEMS, the MFAEC will be dedicating to uplifting Maryland’s leadership in creating model arts education and arts integration programs. Our goal is to showcase the groundbreaking work of Maryland arts education stakeholders at every level, while creating the space for continued learning and collaboration.

Conference workshops include, but are not limited to:
- Expanding Arts Education Access
- Building Opportunities through County Arts Councils and Public Schools
- Re-Envisioning Curriculum
- Scheduling for the Arts
- Creative Leadership
- 21st Century Teaching and Learning and Strategies for Arts Integration

Breakfast will be a variety of pastries with coffee and juices. Lunch will be an assortment of sandwich box lunches. There will be a vegetarian box lunch option.

Click Here to Register!

Click here to view the agenda and session descriptions.

Nominations for the 2018 Jay Tucker Award for Outstanding Leadership in Arts Education

Arts Education in Maryland Schools Alliance is accepting nominations for the 2018 Jay Tucker Award for Outstanding Leadership in Arts Education. Each year, AEMS presents this award to an individual who has advanced or is advancing arts education in one or more Maryland school districts. In 2015, the award was renamed in honor of the former Coordinator of Fine Arts at the Maryland State Department of Education, Jay Tucker, to honor Jay’s legacy and the lasting impact of his contributions to the field of arts education in Maryland. We are excited to continue the tradition by presenting the 2018 award at the Maryland Fine Arts Education Conference on May 31st, 2018 at Anne Arundel Community College.

Nominees are individual adults who have demonstrated commitment to arts and exceptional leadership, which have influenced arts education in the schools (PK-20) of Maryland. Nominees demonstrate the following:

· Leadership at local, regional, state or national level in arts education with commitment to Maryland public schools

· Exceptional contributions to the arts education in Maryland

· A shared vision for arts education in the community and enlisted partners to achieve it

· Transferred a vision into planning, implementation, and evaluation

· Excellence and dedication in arts education field

Past Award Recipients:

2015 – Nancy Grasmick

2016—Jack Smith

2017—First Lady Yumi Hogan

Award Nominations will be accepted until Friday, May 4th, 2018.

Please click here for the nomination form.

We're Hiring! Development Coordinator

The development coordinator is responsible for executing AEMS’ development including planning, organizing and directing fundraising, grant proposals, annual appeals, special events and capital campaigns. Please click here to view the full job description.

Interested applicants: Please e-mail your resume and cover letter to Lori Snyder at

Arts Leadership Recognition Awards

On Saturday, March 3rd, 2018, AEMS recognized eight principals from five districts in honor of Alvin and Louise Myerberg. This annual event is designed to recognize and honor principals for their excellent leadership in arts education. The principals were honored for their recognition of the power of the arts in preparing today's learner with 21st century skills, and in doing so support teaching in and through the arts as a way of engaging students. Three winners are selected by a review panel to receive the award and a $500 stipend for their schools' arts programs. Please join us in celebrating this year's nominees and winners!

Megan Chrobak, Oakland Mills Middle School, Howard County

Alicia Deeny, Takoma Park Middle School, Montgomery County

Carla Furlow, Montpelier Elementary School, Prince George's County

Kenneth Goncz, Liberty High School, Carroll County

Dwayne Jones, Laurel High School, Prince George's County

Karl Streaker, Mt. Airy Middle School, Carroll County

Whitney Warner, Westminster Elementary School, Carroll County

Gordon Webb, Sudbrook Magnet Middle School, Baltimore County


What's Happening

Maryland Arts Education Conference

Join Our Email List

For Email Marketing you can trust
Back to Top

AEMS Alliance, 190 W. Ostend Street, Suite 210, Baltimore, Maryland 21230     Phone: 410-837-5500   Email: